Music News

LESOTHO: Boston Instrumental Post-Metal Trio Announces April Release Of Debut Album, Through The Dying Light

Kyle Loffredo – guitars
Cliff Cazeau – bass, synth
Zach Ganshirt – drums/percussion

Boston, Massachusetts-based instrumental post-metal trio LESOTHO is preparing to release their first full-length album, Through The Dying Light, in early April, today unveiling its cover art, track listing, preorders, and the lead single, “Truth.”

Formed in the quarantine days of 2020, LESOTHO unites guitarist Kyle Loffredo, bassist Cliff Cazeau, and drummer Zach Ganshirt. Their 2021-released debut EP Summer Wars was recorded and engineered by Alex Allinson of The Bridge Sound & Stage in Cambridge – formerly known as Fort Apache Studios, the site of the creation of ISIS’ post-metal epic, Oceanic– and very quickly cemented their place as an up-and-coming artist to watch in the New England alternative metal scene. As Distorted Sound Magazine put it, “as a result of a mutual love for instrumental heavy music, the band quickly established their raison d’être; to dazzle us the listener with cathartic and challenging music.”

LESOTHO now presents their maiden full-length record, Through The Dying Light, the album’s ten songs encompassing fifty minutes of captivating music, including guest lap steel on “Flicker” by Phil Todisco and a guest vocal performance on “Floater” by Molly Grace Chandler. The band returned to The Bridge Sound & Stage, with Alex Allinson once again handling the engineering, recording, and mixing duties, after which the tracks were sent to Mario Quintero of NYC doomgaze act Spotlights who handled mixing at Audio//MQ. The album features artwork and a visual collaboration provided by Thibeault Landemaine and Anaïs Ferreira of the Jack Hillside Collective based in Bordeaux, France.

Regarding Through The Dying Light, the band collectively offers, “We hit the ground running as soon as the pandemic started to subside, but then slowly evolved over time to include bits and pieces of the different feelings we had and the dynamic state of the world changing both literally and figuratively around us. As we continued into our evolution, we began to add more nuance to our sound and include more influence from non-metal artists that personally touched us. Starting out as a straightforward, post-metal outfit and evolving into a leaner, more refined sound was an important factor in us growing as artists and we believe that is reflected in our current sound. In many ways, we became more aggressive in writing and composing while also maintaining our goal of creating something that’s emotionally charged, but also introspective.”

As LESOTHO continues gaining more and more traction in the Northeast underground scene, with Through The Dying Lightready to upend expectations, LESOTHO will surely deliver the both the emotional and sonic depths they promise. With a budding reputation as one of the “best kept secrets” in the Boston post-metal underground, this trio likely won’t be a secret much longer.

Stream LESOTHO’s first Through The Dying Light single “Truth” at THIS LOCATION.

LESOTHO will independently release Through The Dying Light digitally on April 7th, with a limited edition cassette and other merch in the works. Find digital preorders at Bandcamp HERE

Watch for additional audio previews, an official video, physical product updates, and more from the record to be issued over the weeks ahead.

Through The Dying Light Track Listing:
1. The Difficulty Of Crossing A Field
2. Crown Of Echoes
3. Truth…
4. …And Reconciliation
5. Flicker
6. Floater
7. Running Down The Sides
8. Great Fault
9. One Wolf Watches
10. Dead Calm

LESOTHO has several live shows coming up with more in the planning stages. Additional show announcements are to be expected.


3/24/2023 The Jungle – Somerville, MA w/ Blue Manic, Rougarou, Eight Foot Manchild

4/15/2023 Tafetta – Lowell, MA release show w/ The Sound That Ends Creation, Sunflo’er, Lotus Eater Machine, Karate Steve

By Metal Lair

Propter Music Connoisseur, music for refined taste.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *