Music News

Megadeth Release New Song “Soldier On”

New song “Soldier On” off the band’s sixteenth studio album, “The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!”, which will arrive on September 2 via UMe.

MEGADETH frontman Dave Mustaine says “Soldier On!” is about coming to the realization that you need to walk away from a relationship that’s very toxic, and how hard it can be to start down that road. But you know you need to, and just taking that first step is the hardest part. Whatever your leaving does to them, you have to block that part out, stay the course and do what’s right for you. It will be hard in the beginning, but you have got to live for yourself to be worth a damn to anyone else. You’ve got to soldier on.” Dave says the new album is fueled by his competitive mindset. Mustaine also says the album is an unrelenting thrash-metal assault.

Its been 6 years since we’ve seen a new album from Megadeth. Mustaine survived a global pandemic and throat cancer. He spoke about his current state in a Rolling Stone interview last month stating, “I feel healthy,” he says. “I am absolutely loving life, singing the best I’ve ever sang. I’m playing the best I’ve ever played. I can tell you that when we play live, we sit in our jam room before we go out there, and we study the songs now, like I used to back when the early stages of Megadeth.” He sums up his health status with three words: “feisty as ever.”

Prior to Dystopia’s recording, longtime drummer Shawn Drover and guitarist Chris Broderick announced their departure from the band and and it is also the last album to feature bassist David Ellefson before his dismissal from the band in 2021. Dystopia is the band’s 15th studio album and the second highest charting album in the U.S. after Countdown to Extinction.

“The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!” is due out September 2, 2022. You can preorder HERE.

“The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!”track listing:

01. The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!
02. Life In Hell
03. Night Stalkers (feat. Ice T)
04. Dogs Of Chernobyl
05. Sacrifice
06. Junkie
07. Psychopathy
08. Killing Time
09. Soldier On!
10. Célebutante
11. Mission To Mars
12. We’ll Be Back
13. Police Truck (DEAD KENNEDYS cover)
14. This Planet’s On Fire (Burn In Hell)(Sammy Hagar cover) (feat. Sammy Hagar)

By Metal Lair

Propter Music Connoisseur, music for refined taste.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *