Music News

New Album ‘The Fundamental Paradox From Belgian Symphonic Metallers Elusion Out January 13

Evy Verbruggen: vocals
Domingo Smets: guitar
Frederik Van Mieghem: drums

After Domingo had left his previous band Ancient Rites, he felt the need to put all his energy and inspiration into a new project. With the first songs written, he started searching for the right singer, knowing that he needed a powerful and melodic voice that would fit both the symphonic parts as well as the heavy guitars.

In february 2015 he teamed up with Evy Verbruggen for this new musical journey: ELUSION. Other musicians were easily found: Frederik Van Mieghem and Kristof De Greef had been working with Domingo in several projects like Gracefallen and Persephone’s Blade. They too were looking for something new, something different …

In 2016 Elusion released the EP ‘Desert Of Enticement’ which received praiseful reviews, 2017 was used to promote this EP during many gigs with bands like Xandria and Welicoruss 2018 – 2019.

In 2018 the Spanish label Art Gates Records showed interest in the band and offered to collaborate. Recordings for the first full CD ‘Singularity’ were started. Meanwhile Stijn Van Peborgh was added to the line-up as second guitar player.
The first full CD ‘Singularity’ was released worldwide on June 28th 2019, the CD was promoted extensively both in Belgium and abroad. This is predominantly an album that is full of strong and atmospheric songs that take you on a musical adventure in the symphonic metal idiom, but they could as well get the label progressive.
8,5/10 – Rock Tribune
I’m very curious how Elusion will evolve on the hopefully many successors of Singularity. 87/100 – Aardschok. A return to the sound of the early years of Epica and After Forever. An album to take into account. Rock in Spain – Elusion biography Internal.

This symphonic metal band convinces with energetic melodies. 8/10 – Metal Factory 2020.
The Corona pandemic caused a forced break that was intensively used to write and record new material. The new songs show the continuous evolution of the Elusion sound: stubborn, melodic and powerful. The CD is self-released on January 13th 2023.


01. …In Love And War

02. Chiaroscuro

03. Acrimonious

04. Adversity

05. Science/Fiction

06. From The Woods To The Water

07. In Balance

08. Isochronism

09. Deafening Silence


By Metal Lair

Propter Music Connoisseur, music for refined taste.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *