Music News

Rioghan’s long-awaited debut album Different Kinds of Losses is out now!

Promo picture: Aarni Visuals / Mikko Parkkonen. Makeup by Laura Salo Creative. Hair by S-Hair/Marjo Perämäki.

Official line-up:

Jenni Perämäki, Teemu Liekkala, Valtteri Revonkorpi

Finnish Rioghan releases her long-awaited debut album ‘Different Kinds Of Losses’ on December 9th 2022 via Inverse Records. The album has been made in collaboration with Jonas Renkse (Katatonia),Einar Solberg (Leprous), Teemu Liekkala (ex-Manufacturer’s Pride, Red Eleven) and Teemu Koskela (ex-Celesty).

Different Kinds of Losses on streaming services:

Rioghan comments:
It was truly an unforgettable journey to make a whole album for the first time, and I was beyond lucky to have such a professional group of musicians around me to make sure the end result would be perfect, with both music and production. My thoughts might of course already be on future endeavors and I’ve started to get things set out for the second album, but this first one surely is a delight to listen and will forever hold a special place in my heart! Can’t wait to get the live shows ongoing and play these songs out!”

From the previously unreleased songs she wanted to highlight a track called Reflection.

” ‘Reflection’ gives a full-bodied modern progressive metal experience, not to forget some gothic spices here and there. The lyric explores fear of rejection and the emotions and actions revolving around it. When you get to know people, it’d often be easier to just improvise a whole new backstory for yourself and keep all the skeletons in the closet, or on the other hand just forget it and not get to know anyone at all. Sometimes it becomes almost and obsession to try to make an impression, that you can’t even recognise yourself from the careful image you’ve created for someone. Loss of reflection, so to speak.. Musically this is one of the heaviest and most layered songs from the album, and not to lie, we might’ve had to count down the time signatures a few times, even during the recordings!”

CD order is available on Inverse Store

Started out as a solo-project by singer-poetess Rioghan Darcy, the progressive metal act Rioghan has grown into a trio with Teemu Liekkala (guitars, bass, keys, production) and Valtteri Revonkorpi (drums). Rooted deeply in both gothic and progressive metal scenes, they sure should bring something interesting on the table.

The band got some positive international attention with the debut EP Blackened Sky, and the singles from the upcoming ‘Different Kinds Of Losses’ album have already got over 250 000 streams.

Five stunning music videos is done by Aarni Visuals

Watch music video of first singleBreath

Watch music video of second single Promises:
Watch music video of third single Sight:
Watch music video of fourth single Bruises:
Watch music video of fifth single Home:

Album cover by Jan Jämsén

Mastered by Svante Forsbäck/ Chartmakers Oy

Track Listing:

01. Sight
02. Promises
03. Breath
04. Home
05. Bruises
06. Time
07. Innocence
08. Reflection
09. Lights
10. Summer

Official line-up:
Jenni Perämäki, Teemu Liekkala, Valtteri Revonkorpi

Line-up on album:
Jenni Perämäki - Vocals
Teemu Liekkala - Guitars, bass, keys, saxophone
Valtteri Revonkorpi - Drums, percussions
Jonas Renkse - Keys and guitar solo on ‘Sight’
Einar Solberg - Keys on ‘Bruises’ and ‘Lights’
Marko Hautamäki - Cello
Tony Kaikkonen - Harmonica, feat. vocals on ‘Summer’

Recordings by
Vocals - Ville Hautaluoma
Drums - Teemu Liekkala at SN-Audio Production
All else - Teemu Liekkala
Produced, recorded & mixed by Teemu Liekkala


By Metal Lair

Propter Music Connoisseur, music for refined taste.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *