Music News

syk Mold Musical Alchemy With New Single “eartHFlesh”

Photo by © Filippo De Dionigi

syk defy convention. Since 2013, the Italian band have transcended mere labels by forging a progressive and blackened bent on death metal. Their new album, eartHFlesh, puts them on the frontier of extreme metal by challenging any and all conventions.

Watch the eerie yet pummeling video for the album’s title track:

eartHFlesh comes out May 10 on Season of Mist.


“eartHFlesh” emerges as a raw rebuke. 7-string riffs ring out like a broken fire alarm before Stefano Ferrian digs into a dark and ominous death growl. “Nothing but lies, the theater goes on and on”, he screams over a blast beats that whirl with the controlled rage of an inferno.

“‘eartHFlesh’ is about all of us and how decadence permeates our world, often manifested through brutal violence”, Stefano says. “We’re in a time of transition, where evil is mostly manifested through power. The same power that’s promoting ignorance degrades our planet, killing the importance of being an individual instead of a passive citizen.

Even when the song breaks from its djenty chug with eerie melodic dissonance, syk are still relentless in their scorn.

“Things will never change if we don’t feel the urgency of our responsibility as humans of what we’re creating around us.”

1. I Am The Beast (6:02)
2. Where I Am Going There Is No Light (5:54)
3. I’ll Haunt You In Your Dreams (6:08)
4. eartHFlesh (5:42) [WATCH]
5. The Sermon (5:06)
6. The Cross (3:50)
7. For To Themselves I Left Them (4:20)
8. The Passing (8:14)
Total runtime: 45:17

Available Formats:
Digital Download
CD Digipak
12″ Vinyl Jacket – Black
12″ Coloured Vinyl Jacket – Silver
12″ Coloured Vinyl Jacket – Crystal Clear & Red Marbled

syk is a metal band that came into existence in 2013 when Stefano Ferrian and Federico De Bernardi di Valserra decided to embark on a new musical venture following the disbandment of their previous project, .psychofagist. They were soon joined by the immensely talented vocalist Dalila Kayros, whose vocal skills left a deep impression on the band during live performances.

In May 2014, syk released their debut album titled Atoma through L’Inphantile Collective. The album caught the attention of Philip H Anselmo from Housecore Records, who not only expressed his appreciation for the band’s work but also offered them a deal for their second album. This second album, titled I-Optikon, was released on December 2, 2016, and was produced by Philip H Anselmo himself. The album was notable for its technical compositions that offered a unique and unparalleled listening experience, as Metal Trenches aptly described it.

Following the release of their second album, the band welcomed their long-time friend Marcello Cravini as a permanent member, taking on the role of the second guitarist. syk subsequently embarked on extensive tours across Europe in 2017 and 2018 and had the honour of being the official support act for GODFLESH during their Italian/Slovenian run in May 2018. Additionally, they also participated in the prestigious Roadburn Festival in the same year, further cementing their reputation as a promising metal act.

In 2019, Federico made the difficult decision to leave the band due to personal reasons, and shortly after, the global pandemic hit, disrupting the band’s search for a new drummer. However, towards the end of 2020, Mauro Maraldo joined syk as their new drummer, and with their lineup complete, they wasted no time in entering the studio to record their third album. This album, titled Pyramiden, was released on March 11th, 2022, through Housecore Records/Nuclear Blast. The album’s distinct and powerful character earned syk high praise, with MetalheadCommunity recognizing them as one of the most promising metal acts of the time.

Pyramiden received further acclaim when it was included in the ProgSpace Awards 2022 under the category of ‘Album of the Year 2022/Extreme Prog Category’, alongside esteemed acts like Fallujah, Allegaeon, Cult of Luna, and Conjurer. Unfortunately, soon after the album’s release, both Mauro and Dalila had to depart from the band due to personal reasons.

However, syk, known for their sonic evolution, decided to press on. Founding members Stefano and Marcello continued working on their fourth album while actively searching for new members. Alan La Roca joined the band as the bass player, solidifying the lineup, but the search for a drummer remained a challenge. It wasn’t until Federico Leone answered their call that the band found their new drummer. With the lineup in place consisting of Stefano Ferrian as the new frontman, guitarist, and main songwriter, Marcello Cravini on guitars, Alan La Roca on bass, and Federico Leone on drums, syk took on a new form.

In early 2023, syk caught the attention of Season Of Mist, who signed them for the release of their fourth album, eartHFlesh. This album not only marks the band’s latest offering but also signifies their first decade as a band. With a reinvigorated sound and an intensified sonic progression, syk continues to captivate listeners and solidify their place in the metal scene.

Recording Line-up
Stefano Ferrian – Guitars, Vocals
Marcello Cravini – Guitars, Ambient FX
Alan La Roca – Bass
Federico Leone – Drums

Guest Musicians
Dalila Kayros – Guest Vocals (On ‘I Am The Beast’, ‘I’ll Haunt You In Your Dreams’, For To Themselves I Left Them’ & ‘The Passing’)

Recording Studio
Fiery Water Recording Studio (Alessandria, Italy)

Producer, Sound, Mixing & Mastering Engineer
Fabrizio GesuatoCover Art
Nihil & Leoncio Harmr

Video Production
Directed and Edited by Stefano Ferrian.
Filmed by Ancellotti Silvano & Vittorio Bottini at MF Old School Production.
Performer: StellaDiPlastica.
“Black Angel Wing” & “Demon’s Face” artistic installations by Paola Monfrinotti.


Apple Music:

By Metal Lair

Propter Music Connoisseur, music for refined taste.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *