Music News

Canada’s Alienatör Look At Current Events Through Hardcore Sludge In “The Less Dead” + New Album “Regrets” Out Now!

(L to R) Sean Skillen – Bass/Back-up Vocals, Brad King – Guitar/Vocals, Simon Paquette – Drums
Photo Credit – Peter David Wragg

Alienatör is a sludge metal band from Ontario, Canada that combines punk, hardcore, and noise rock elements into a stripped-down package, full of razor-sharp riffs and memorable hooks. They have recently released their second album, “Regrets”, which is a grim postcard from the depths of the human psyche. Their darkest release yet, it is a reaction to years of deep political turmoil, the erosion of truth, as well as personal politics of grief, loss, and struggle. It’s an album that touches on personal and social themes. Flourishes of melody drenched in a caustic sludge, painted in shades of black. The music video for “The Less Dead” gives a glimpse of the band performing live, channeling all their energy and passion into their art. They describe the theme behind the song:

“The “less dead,” is a term for those that are considered less of a priority for police investigations and therefore are easy victims for predators – sex workers, people of color, the poor, etc. Written before the George Floyd murder but certainly reinforced by it. The closest to a straight-ahead punk song on the album. Simon’s tom work in the bridge really elevates it.”

The video for “The Less Dead”can be viewed via its premiere on Decibel Magazine HERE. ​

Alienatör started out very sludgy but as they mature they are cobbling bits of different heavy styles together, juxtaposing very fast, thrashy stuff with slower doomy stuff. They slowly forged their own sound which carries a lot of the energy of punk and post-hardcore but still has a heavy edge.

“Regrets” is bleak and abrasive but with moments of calm, melody, and beauty to juxtapose against the ugliness. It is dark, cathartic and explores personal themes of discontent, racism, and abuse of power in Canada and the erosion of truth we’ve seen in modern times. It is recommended for fans of Jesus Lizard, Unsane, and Melvins.

“Regrets” available on (CD)

Previous music videos can be seen on the band’s YouTube here.

Track Listing:
1. Revisionist History – 2:10
2. Loss Leader – 4:03
3. Blood Red Blood – 3:08
4. Regrets – 3:44
5. The Priest – 5:30
6. The Less Dead – 1:56
7. Flat Earth Society – 2:51
8. Irreconcilable – 2:59
9. Your Funeral – 3:20
10. Wounded Birds – 4:10
11. Dark Matters – 4:09
Album Length: 38:04

Album Recording Credits:
– All songs performed by: Alienator
– Music by Alienator
– Lyrics by Brad King
– Produced by: Sean Skillen
– Mixed by: Sean Skillen
– Mastered by: Brad Boatright
– Album Artwork by: Peter David Wragg
– Member of SOCAN
– Canadian Content (MAPL)

Album and Live Line Up:
Brad King – Vocals, Guitar
Sean Skillen – Bass, Vocals
Simon Paquette – Drums

For more info:

About: Hailing from Thunder Bay, ON, Canada, Alienatör is a sludge metal band that combines punk, hardcore, and noise rock elements into a stripped-down package, full of razor-sharp riffs and memorable hooks.

Their debut album, “Pariahs,” released in 2109 moves from fast and aggressive to slow and swampy with touches of experimental weirdness. Many of the lyrics are about how we numb ourselves to the pain and disappointment of everyday life.

Fast forward to 2022, and the band is ready to unleash their follow-up, entitled “Regrets,” which introduces new drummer Simon Paquette to the fold. The album is bleak and abrasive, with moments of calm, melody, and beauty to juxtapose against the ugliness. Raw, uncompromising, and dark, it is emotionally heavy music that reflects a chaotic time in history.

“Noisy post-hardcore sludge, full of energy and rage… a genuine ass-kicker of a record.” – Decibel

“Aggression is the name of the game in the latest offering from Thunder Bay, Ontario crew ALIENATÖR. Brad King (guitar, vox), Sean Skillen (bass, vox), and Simon Paquette (drums) pack a big wallop for a band of three. Their sound is a hash of sludge, hardcore, noise, and crust, with a message that’s urgent and dire… Regrets plays out like a nervous breakdown, but a damned exhilarating one.” – Doomed and Stoned

“Dark, powerful and honest.” – Metal Noise. 

“Music that will leave you feeling elated even if it’s covered in so much dirt and slime.” – GBHBL

“If you’re after something heavy and different, go for this because this is impressive.” – My Global Mind

By Metal Lair

Propter Music Connoisseur, music for refined taste.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *