Music News

Canadian Thrashers HYPERIA Announces New Album “The Serpent’s Cycle” w/ Lyric Video For Single “Prophet Of Deceit”

L-R – Colin Ryley – Guitars, Marlee Ryley – Vocals, Ryan Idris – Drums, Jon Power – Bass
Photo Credit – Caitlin Delaplace

Hyperia is a Canadian melodic thrash metal band known for wailing vocals, shredding guitars, and fast, heavy drums. Formed in 2018, Hyperia combines elements of aggressive thrash with intricate guitar melodies alongside a wide variety of vocal styles, which have been showcased on an EP and two albums thus far, with the third full-length slated for release this November. The first single off “The Serpent’s Cycle” is the blistering “Prophet Of Deceit”, which takes a more serious tone than the other tracks on the album. The band comments:

“This track brings us back into a serious mood, it is a quite melodic and technical song starting off with blistering guitar into a full-force attack of drums. The working title for this song was “Shredlord Supreme”, which should give you an idea of what to expect. This song is about the problems we have with certain members of society and gaslighting. It’s a hard-hitting track that is full of energy throughout.”

This album “The Serpent’s Cycle” has a wide variety of riffs, ones that will remind listeners of the 80s and also ones that usher in the new era of modern thrash. Song order was intentionally chosen to ensure that each song is given its space between different songs and makes the album continue feeling fresh throughout. Hyperia expects “The Serpent’s Cycle” to be received very well by fans as everyone who has heard it so far agrees it’s by far the best album they’ve made. It has all the usual elements of a Hyperia album, just amplified and refined. They think it’s a huge step up from their previous releases and hope the reception for it proves that.

The melodic and aggressive 11-track album that included a cover of Heart‘s “Crazy On You” comes out on November 17, 2023, and is a perfect mix of old-school sensibilities and modern experimentation. It is recommended for fans of Exmortus, Municipal Waste, and Havok.

Watch and listen to “Prophet Of Deceit” via its premiere on Bravewords HERE.

“The Serpent’s Cycle” is due out on November 17, 2023 and is available for pre-order at

Track Listing:
1. Ego Trip (4:41)
2. Automatic Thrash Machine (4:02)
3. Prophet of Deceit (4:16)
4. Psychosomatic (4:29)
5. The Serpent’s Cycle (5:04)
6. Trapped in Time (3:58)
7. Spirit Bandit (4:04)
8. Eye for an Eye ( 4:47)
9. Binge & Surge (3:44)
10. Deathbringer (5:31)
11. Crazy On You [Heart Cover] (5:03)
Album Length: 49:41

Album Credits:
– All songs performed by: Hyperia
– All songs written by: Colin Ryley, except Trapped in Time co-written with David Kupisz
– All lyrics by: Marlee Ryley
– Mixed by: Colin Ryley
– Mastered by: Mika Jussila
– Member of SOCAN
– Canadian Content MAPL

For more info:

“If you prefer your metal loud, dark and just a touch campy (and who doesn’t?), then Calgary-turned-Vancouver rockers Hyperia are planning to deliver with Silhouettes of Horror, the follow-up to 2020’s equally furious and equally fun Insanitorium. First single “Operation Midnight” is an unrelenting barrage of riffage held down by Marlee Ryley’s throat-blistering vocals.” – Exclaim! – One of Exclaim!’s most anticipated albums of 2022

“With their second album Silhouettes Of Horror, Canadian thrashers Hyperia doubled down on the most ferocious elements of their sound to achieve a sound that owed more than a passing nod to Tetonic thrashers Kreator or Destruction. The fact vocalist Marlee Ryley can deliver blackened snarls with as much gusto as trad-metal histrionics helped them stand out from the crowd, firmly establishing Hyperia as promising up-and-comers in the wide world of thrash. RH” – Metal Hammer – The top 10 best thrash metal albums of 2022

“Recent Calgary-to-Vancouver transplants Hyperia are all about thrashing in a style inherent to ’80s basketball shoes, shredded denim, battle jackets and those studded gauntlets that may look cool, but are likely more responsible for forearm rashes than being a gateway to one-night stands. Imagine classic Megadeth, “Toxic Waltz”-era Exodus, Annihilator and Anthrax alongside Exmortus, Havok, Warbringer, Violator, Crisix and others with a new-school take on an old-school sound.” – Decibel Mag

“Energetic, melodic, fast, psychotic, and dynamic are just some of the elements that make Silhouettes of Horror an album that old and new fans of thrash, NWoBHM, and power metal will appreciate. The band even included a cover homage of Abba’s Gimme Gimme Gimme.” – Sentinel Daily

“All in all, Silhouettes of Horror gave me what I want for from a modern melodic thrash album. It’s fun, it doesn’t take itself too seriously, and it’s got cool stories to tell.” – Angry Metal Guy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *