Music News

Kingcrow Announce New Album with Hard-Grooving Single “Kintsugi”

Photo by Riccardo Nifosì

Embark on a journey of resilience and reinvention with KINGCROW as they soar to new progressive heights on their upcoming eighth album Hopium. Catch the high-flying Italian prog-metal band as they display their eagle eye for poignant lyrics and grooving melodies on the album’s powerful lead single, “Kintsugi”. 

Watch the video for “Kintsugi”

Hopium is out August 23 on Season of Mist.

Pre-order & pre-save:

Hopium continues Kingcrow’s steadfast commitment to exploring the depths of emotion, a trait that has solidified their standing in the hearts of music enthusiasts across the globe. With “Kintsugi”, listeners are invited into a world where imperfections are not merely accepted but celebrated with golden seams of strength.

Drawing inspiration from the ancient Japanese art of repairing broken pottery, “Kintsugi” beautifully parallels life’s ability to recover from adversity, a theme that’s intricately woven throughout Hopium. The single is an anthem for anyone who has ever faced defeat, only to rise again with a renewed sense of purpose and beauty.

The music video for “Kintsugi” was masterfully crafted by Riccardo Nifosì and Devilnax.

Cover Art Devilnax

Tracklist1. Kintsugi (3:53) [WATCH]
2. Glitch (3:56)
3. Parallel Lines (6:46)
4. New Moon Harvest (3:30)
5. Losing Game (5:28)
6. White Rabbit’s Hole (6:55)
7. Night Drive (5:48)
8. Vicious Circle (4:21)
9. Hopium (8:24)
10. Come Through (Bonus Track) (4:21)
Total runtime: 53:27

Country: Italy
Genre: Progressive Rock
FFO: Caligula’s Horse, Leprous, The Pineapple Thief, Haken

The first incarnation of the band  was originally founded in Rome, Italy, by brothers Diego Cafolla (guitars) and Manuel Thundra Cafolla (drums) under the name of “Earth Shaker”.

Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe’s poem “Raven” and driven by a will of change, the band’s name was soon altered into KINGCROW and a couple of self-produced demos/albums where recorded under the KINGCROWmoniker: Something Unknown(2001), Insider (2004) and Timetropia (2006).

In the early months of 2010 the band finished recording their new album “Phlegethon” that was released in June of the same year under the “Scarlet Records” label.

It was considered on an international level as a relevant masterpiece and was classed as one of the elite progressive metal albums of the year. It has been near the top of the “album of the year” charts in some international prog-rock websites. Phlegethon promotion lasted for about two years and a half.

During the same year, the band recorded the new album “In Crescendo” that was released in February 2013 by the American label “Sensory Records.

The band toured  along with Pain Of Salvation in North America  in April and May, 2013. In 2015 the band released the album “Eidos” and toured Europe as Headliners. Meanwhile KINGCROW signed a management deal with GlassVille Music, house of very well known progressive acts like Pain Of Salvation and Riverside among others.

The band recorded the new album titled “The Persistence”.

The album was released on September 7th via Sensory Records and received great reviews and ended on a lot of “best of 2018” lists on magazines and webzines.

The upcoming album “Hopium” marks another step forward in pushing boundaries remarking the restless progressive  attitude of the band in incorporating countless influences into a personal sound.

Describing the band today is quite a difficult task, but one could state that the influence of different kinds of music, from progressive rock , ambient music, alternative rock and metal are all present in the music of KINGCROW.

With each release KINGCROW has taken a step further away from their original roots and is regarded today as one of the most exciting bands that Italy has to offer.
Diego Marchesi – Vocals
Diego Cafolla – Guitars, Keys, Backing Vocals
Ivan Nastasi – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Riccardo Nifosì – Bass, Backing Vocals
Thundra – Drums, Percussions

Recording Studio
Sound Under Pressure (Rome, Italy)

Production Credits
Produced by Diego Cafolla & Thundra Cafolla
Sound Engineer – Diego Cafolla

Mixed by Giampiero Ulacco at Holofram Studios (Francavilla al Mare, Italy)

Mastered by Marco Vannucci at Spitfire Mastering Studio (Italy)

Guest Musicians
Vikram Shankar – Piano solo on “Hopium”

Pre-save & Pre-order:

Links/Follow Artist:
Official Website:
Apple Music:

Available Formats:
Digital Download
CD Digipak
12″ Vinyl Gatefold – Black

By Metal Lair

Propter Music Connoisseur, music for refined taste.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *