Music News

METALLICA’s JAMES HETFIELD To Star In Dark Western Thriller ‘The Thicket’

METALLICAs James Hetfield has a role in the upcoming dark western thriller The Thicket, based on Joe R. Lansdale‘s novel of the same name. Production on the film, starring and produced by “Game Of Thrones”alum Peter Dinklage, is underway in Calgary, Canada.

Dinklage will play Shorty, a bounty hunter enlisted to find a woman who has been kidnapped by a violent killer. The movie, which is set at the turn of the 20th century, follows Shorty and his fellow trackers as they travel into a violent and chaotic place known as the Big Thicket.

“The Thicket” also stars Juliette Lewis (“Yellowjackets”),Esmé Creed-Miles (“Hanna”),Levon Hawke (“The Crowded Room”),Leslie Grace (“In The Heights”),Gbenga Akinnagbe(“The Old Man”),Macon Blair (“I Care A Lot”),Ned Dennehy(“Peaky Blinders”),Andrew Schulz(“Infamous”) and Arliss Howard(“Mank”).

Back in 2019, Hetfield had a part in the Netflix thriller “Extremely Wicked, Shockingly Evil And Vile”. That film followed the relationship between notorious serial killer Ted Bundy, played by Zac Efron, and his longtime girlfriend, played by Lily Collins, who at the time had no knowledge of the crimes. Hetfield played officer Bob Hayward, a no-nonsense Utah highway patrol veteran who was the first law enforcement officer to arrest Bundy in 1975 after pulling the killer over and discovering burglary tools in his car but wisely suspecting much worse. While Hetfield had played himself in other films and television productions, this was his first dramatic role taking on a different character.

Four years ago, Efron praised the METALLICA guitarist/vocalist’s acting chops during an appearance on “Jimmy Kimmel Live!”, saying: “James Hetfield, to his credit, absolutely nailed the part, he just crushed it. It’s like he’s been acting his whole life. He had no fear. He did a great job. I was ready to maybe give James Hetfield [an acting] tip, but he didn’t ask for a single one. James Hetfield is the shit!”

METALLICA released a new song called If Darkness Had A Son on Wednesday, March 1st.

“If Darkness Had A Son” is taken from METALLICA‘s 12th studio album, 72 Seasons, which will be released April 14 via the band’s own Blackened Recordings. Produced by Greg Fidelman with Hetfield and Ulrich, and clocking in at over 77 minutes, the 12-track 72 Seasons is METALLICA‘s first full-length collection of new material since 2016’s “Hardwired…To Self-Destruct”. The album will be released in formats, including 2LP 140g black vinyl and limited-edition variants, CD and digital.

METALLICA and Trafalgar Releasing will hold a worldwide 72 Seasons listening party. For one night only on Thursday, April 13, 72 Seasons will be played in full in pummeling surround sound, exclusively for cinema audiences worldwide — with every one of the new songs featuring its own music video and exclusive commentary from the band. The result will offer fans an unforgettable night as they experience 72 Seasons first and fully on the eve of its April 14 release date.

The 72 Seasons global premiere sees METALLICA and Trafalgar joining forces once more, having previously worked together on the October 2019 worldwide cinematic release of “S&M²”, which documented METALLICA and San Francisco Symphony reuniting to celebrate the 20th anniversary of their original “S&M” (Symphony & Metallica) concerts and releases.

In a released behind-the-scenes look at the making of 72 Seasons, Hetfield stated about the LP’s first single, Lux Æterna: “Lux Æterna is an upbeat, kind of fast and joyous song, I would say — really indicative of New Wave Of British [Heavy] Metal stuff, so kind of a harkening-back-to-’80s kind of riff. It’s just fun and makes me move. It was fun making the video, fun recording a song that comes out really easy, that was a real easy song to write and to perform, like I said, very much like the early ’80s for us.”

As for the inspiration for the 72 Seasons album title, Hetfield said: “72 Seasons came out of a book I was reading about childhood, basically, and sorting out childhood as an adult. And 72 seasons is basically the first 18 years of your life. How do you evolve and grow and mature and develop your own ideas and identity of self after those first 72 seasons? Some things are more difficult than others — you know, some things you can’t unsee and they’re with you for the rest of your life, and other things you’re able to rewind the tape and make a new tape in your life. So that’s the real interesting part for me, is how you’re able to address those situations as an adult and mature.” “There’s been a lot of darkness in my life and in our career and things that have happened with us, but always having a sense of hope, always having the light that is in that darkness… Without darkness, there is no light, and being able to focus a little more on the light in life instead of all of the… how it used to be and how horrible it is… There’s a lot of good things going on in life — focusing on that instead, and it helps to balance out my life. And there’s no one meaning to it — everyone has some sense of hope or light in their life, and, obviously, music is mine. And the song specifically talks about gathering of people at a concert and [being] able to see the joy and the life and the love that comes out of music and the family and the kinship in that, and just a sense of uplifting.”

In November, METALLICA released the Tim Saccenti-directed music video for Lux Æterna, along with details about the album’s accompanying M72 world tour featuring two-night stops in nearly two dozen cities. Presented worldwide by Liquid Death and Blackened American Whiskey (in North America only) and promoted by Live Nation, the 46-show trek will launch in Amsterdam on April 27 and will include shows all over Europe and North America through 2024. Each “No Repeat Weekend” on M72 will feature two completely different setlists and support lineups. The M72tour will feature a bold new in-the-round stage design that relocates the famed METALLICA Snake Pit to center stage, as well as the “I Disappear” full-tour pass and the debut of discounted tickets for fans under 16 years of age. Opening acts for the tour include PANTERA, MAMMOTH WVH, FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH, ICE NINE KILLS, ARCHITECTS, VOLBEAT and GRETA VAN FLEET.

72 Seasons Track Listing:

1. 72 Seasons
2. Shadows Follow
3. Screaming Suicide
4. Sleepwalk My Life Away
5. You Must Burn!
6. Lux Æterna
7. Crown of Barbed Wire
8. Chasing Light
9. If Darkness Had a Son
10. Too Far Gone?
11. Room of Mirrors
12. Inamorata

By Metal Lair

Propter Music Connoisseur, music for refined taste.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *