Music News

OBLIVION PROTOCOL: Long-Awaited Debut Full-Length, The Fall Of The Shires, Out Now On Atomic Fire Records

Photo by Patric Ullaeus

Richard West – vocals, keyboards
Ruud Jolie – guitars
Simon Andersson – bass
Darby Todd – drums

Stream/purchase OBLIVION PROTOCOL’s The Fall Of The Shires HERE.

The official unveiling of The Fall Of The Shires, the debut full-length from OBLIVION PROTOCOL out now.

OBLIVION PROTOCOL is the prog rock/metal supergroup led by Threshold keyboard player and songwriter Richard West. The band’s lineup is completed with three renowned musicians: guitarist Ruud Jolie (Within Temptation), bassist Simon Andersson (Darkwater), and drummer Darby Todd (Devin Townsend). Additionally, Threshold’s Karl Groom has contributed some truly enthralling guitar solos to the record.

Written as a sequel to Threshold’s 2017 concept album Legends Of The Shires, The Fall Of The Shires delivers a dense, climactic sound somewhere between Rush, Steven Wilson, The Dark Side Of The Moon-era Pink Floyd, and hard rock masters Ghost, all the while providing the listener with clever little nods, bows and references to the first installment.

“I’ve loved concept albums since I was young,” Westunderlines. “I remember wanting to make one when I was in bands at school. So, I found making Legends…very fulfilling and was immediately drawn to the idea of making another one.”

The record’s album cover, designed by celebrated artist Thomas Ewerhard who was responsible for so many of Threshold’s classic covers such as Hypothetical and Subsurface, depicts the downfall of the world shown on Legends Of The Shires.

The Fall Of The Shires is available as CD-digipak, LP, and digitally. Order yours today at THIS LOCATION.

Watch OBLIVION PROTOCOL’s previously released videos for “The Fall (Part 1)” HERE, “Forests In The Fallout” HERE, and “This Is Not A Test” HERE.

Subscribe to Atomic Fire Records on YouTube HERE. Listen to “Tormented” as well as other new tracks in the AFR New Releases playlist on Spotify HERE.

Artwork by Thomas Ewerhard

The Fall Of The Shires Track Listing:
1. The Fall (Part 1)
2. Tormented
3. Public Safety Broadcast
4. This Is Not A Test
5. Storm Warning
6. Vertigo
7. Forests In The Fallout
8. The Fall (Part 2)

“Musically immaculate, melodically strong and lyrically absorbing, OBLIVION PROTOCOL’s first outing is more than strong enough to pave the way for more flights of conceptual fancy in the future.” – Blabbermouth

“…a must for all Threshold fans… The Fall Of The Shires deserved not only to be made but heard and enjoyed by fans and anyone who loves epic prog.” – Progressive Music Planet

“Those who love a seventies-sounding progressive rock endeavor with aspects of pop and metal sprinkled in should find plenty to enjoy here.” – Dead Rhetoric

By Metal Lair

Propter Music Connoisseur, music for refined taste.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *