Music News

Extreme Metal Outfit THE ARCANE ORDER Drop New Single “The First Deceiver”

THE ARCANE ORDER Releases New Single “The First Deceiver”

Track list:

Distortions From Cosmogony
Cry Of Olympus
A Blinding Trust In Chosen Kings
Starvations for Elysium
Favors For Significance
The First Deceiver
Empedocles’ Dream
Ideals Of Wretched Kingdoms
Children Of Erebos
Wings of Duality

Danish extreme metal quintet THE ARCANE ORDER returns with their fourth album Distortions From Cosmogonyset for a June 9th release via Black Lion Records. With their new experienced line-up consisting of members from SOILWORK, MØL and HATESPHERE, the band has created an epic metal album within their singular style combining the extreme, the grandiose, technical and melodic while telling the story of mankind’s eternal existential conflict between autonomy and submission. The band is now showcasing the latest single, “The First Deceiver”.

The band elaborates on the track: “On this song we wanted a darker kind of vibe while utilizing some sinister harmonies we never did before. A bit like in the older Pestilence-songs from the “Malleus Maleficarum” era, while still mixing it up for a more progressive chorus and some dark yet groovy passages to spice things up.

“From a lyrical perspective, the song is about Prometheus, the perfect anti-hero. The myth of how he had to flee the wrath of the gods for bestowing the gift of fire to man served as one of the best classical narratives of rebellion and liberation. Is he a self sacrificing savior of man or has he brought ruin on us all for giving men a tool to undermine the reign of the divine?”

Distortions From Cosmogony will be released on 2-LP, CD and physical formats can be pre-ordered HERE while digital formats can be pre-saved HERE. News regarding live shows will follow in the near future.


Danish extreme metal band THE ARCANE ORDER was founded by guitarist and composer (IINVOCATOR, AUTUMN LEAVES, TEMPLE OF SCORN) in the 00’s with the aim of writing epic and melodic extreme metal pushing the boundaries for what metal could be and express. The band was signed to Metal Blade, who released The Machinery of Oblivion (2006) and In the Wake of Collisions (2008) and after a extended release break, the third album Cult of None came out via Massacre Records (2015). Along the way, THE ARCANE ORDER has played a string of high profile shows on native soil proving time after time to be one of Denmark’s most exciting metal acts.

During their career, THE ARCANE ORDER has been challenged by line-up changes, but has continuously returned as a strengthened outfit with artistic will and vision. In 2017, Bastian Thusgaard (Soilwork) became the band’s new drummer and thus accompanied Flemming C. Lund and longtime guitarist Kasper Kirkegaard (HATESPHERE). In 2019, work on album four commenced, but the process was to be challenged by both change of members and a pandemic and lasted three years in all. In the final phase of recording, the band finally found a new singer in Kim Song Sternkopf (MØL), and with bass player Anders Frodo S. Mikkelsen’s inclusion in 2022, the band’s current line-up was complete.

As the previous three, THE ARCANE ORDER’s new album Distortions from Cosmogony is recorded by Jacob Hansen (ABORTED, ARCH ENEMY, VOLBEAT, KATATONIA) and in addition Jacob Bredahl (LIFESICK, EYES, LIVLOS) has recorded vocals, while the guitars were tracked in Flemming C. Lund’s home studio. The new album is a 54 minute long virtuosic display of THE ARCANE ORDER’s unique fusion of death, black, tech, classic and melodic metal. The band’s skillful balancing of the epic and aggressive, the extreme and melodic and of the technical and catchy is unfolded in dramatic songwriting taking the band’s expression to new heights, while demanding complete devotion from the listener – who are equally rewarded, if this is delivered.

In the same manner, the subject matter of THE ARCANE ORDER demands a will to immerse oneself, look inwards and to be challenged. Distortions From Cosmogony’ revolves around humankind’s eternal existential struggle of division between autonomy and submission, internally as well as externally. The album dives into the distortion and transition taking place, when humans project their incompleteness into the creation of gods and their counterparts, here on earth as well as beyond. Humans have always told stories about itself and the world with cosmogonies carrying reward and punishment as the most archetypal narratives. The album asks the eternal questions about who we are, which narratives shape us and if these will forever determine our species.


Kim Song Sternkopf – Vocals
Flemming C. Lund: Guitar
Kasper Kierkegaard: Guitar
Anders Frodo S. Mikkelsen – Bass
Bastian Thusgaard – Drums