Music News

Tony Iommi of Black Sabbath Announces New Music

Tony Iommi announced he’s planning a new album and he’s going into the studio to record it. Heres what he had to say:

“It’s been a good year for me – in parts anyway. I’ve been writing and recording; I’m having a new studio built, which I’m really pleased about.

“Well, actually, the studio is built, and it’s almost ready to go… In another couple of weeks, I think I’ll be ready to go in and start work in there, which I’m really looking forward to — writing another album.”

“I’ve done two tracks for Ozzy’s album, which I really enjoyed doing. I wrote it at home and sent it to him, and he liked it. And I played on another track, and got a Grammy nomination for it, which was very pleasing. So we’ll see what happens; if we do get a Grammy in February. We’ll see.”

“And then, in 2023, of course, we’re gonna have the Tony Martin box set, and Cozy Powell [drums] and Neil Murray [bass]. I’m looking forward to that because a lot of people have asked about it, which is great… And we’ve done [Black Sabbath re-releases] in succession, really. You can’t just bring everything out together; it has to come out at times.

“So we’ve had all the original Sabbath stuff come out, the box sets, and then we’ve got the Ronnie [James Dio] stuff, and then the next thing will be the Tony Martin and then my solo stuff. So it’s gonna be busy again. But it’s great. And it’s nice to be doing the interviews and talking about what we did and all the rest of stuff.”


Ozzy Osbourne, Black Sabbath’s Tony Iommi Reunite on ‘Degradation Rules’

Two of Black Sabbath’s alumni, Ozzy Osbourne and Tony Iommi — have reunited for “Degradation Rules.” The track features Iommi’s signature doom riffs while the Prince of Darkness sings about “asphyxiation, masturbation, degradation rules” and even plays a little harmonica. The track will appear on the upcoming album, Patient Number 9, due Sept. 9. The LP’s title track, featuring a guest appearance by legendary guitarist Jeff Beck, was made available last month. Artist and comic book creator Todd McFarlane directed the music video for the song.

Track Listing:

01. Patient Number 9 (feat. Jeff Beck)
02. Immortal (feat. Mike McCready)
03. Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde)
04. No Escape From Now (feat. Tony Iommi)
05. One Of Those Days (feat. Eric Clapton)
06. A Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck)
07. Mr. Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde)
08. Nothing Feels Right (feat. Zakk Wylde)
09. Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde)
10. Degradation Rules (feat. Tony Iommi)
11. Dead And Gone
12. God Only Knows
13. Darkside Blues

“The song is about a mental institution,” Ozzy said in an interview with Sirius XM. In the track, Osbourne sings: “When they call your name, better run and hide / Tell you you’re insane, you believe their lies / I’m not getting out, no I’m not getting out alive / I’m not getting out, ’cause I’m patient number 9.”

Regarding Beck‘s contribution to the song, Ozzy said: “Having someone like Jeff Beck play on my album is just incredible, a total honor. There’s no other guitar player that plays like him and his solo on ‘Patient Number 9’ is just jaw-dropping.”

As for his renewed collaboration with Iommi, Ozzy said: “It was really great working with Tony. He’s the riff master. No one can touch him in that respect. I only wish we had these songs for BLACK SABBATH‘s ’13’ album.”