Music News

Venomous Concept (feat. Shane Embury & Kevin Sharp) launch new single/video, “Fractured”; From The Album ‘The Good Ship Lollipop’ Out Feb. 24th via Decibel Records

Venomous Concept The Good Ship Lollipop recording line-up:
Shane Embury – bass
Kevin Sharp – vocals
John Cooke – guitars
Carl Stokes – drums

Venomous Concept – the hardcore punk brainchild of Shane Embury (Napalm Death, Brujeria, etc.) and Kevin Sharp (Lock Up, ex-Brutal Truth) – are barreling towards the February 24th release of their new album, The Good Ship Lollipop, via Decibel Records. Today they take their biggest step yet, with the release of the record’s third video, “Fractured,” which features Embury on lead vocals, and holds a special place in the songwriter’s heart. The arresting clip was created and directed by Andy Lefton and can viewed below: 

“I was sitting outside the recording studio in Cambridge on a summer’s day thinking about this song, lyrically and vocally,” says Embury. “We were a few months into the pandemic and Kevin had gotten into the U.K. to record his vocals for the Venomous Concept album, which was a relief! I sat there wondering what was happening in our world. Fiction seemed to have merged with reality where we all experienced so much stress, so much anxiety. I am not special – the pandemic affected us all in ways we don’t yet realize.

“Music was always my comfort, but during this time my family needed me to be strong and I really wasn’t. I was breaking apart and trying to figure out how to put myself back together, and hopefully leave some of the bad bits behind.

“Memories came – my childhood, my parents, my family, my children, my friends. Then the words to ‘Fractured’ came…I am still piecing myself back together, trying to be just good enough.”

“Fractured” will be available on all major streaming services this Friday, February 3rd; in the meantime, fans can watch the previously released videos (“Voices” and “Timeline“) online. The Good Ship Lollipop, the group’s fifth full-length, will receive an exclusive North American vinyl and cassette release through Decibel Records on February 24th, and is available for pre-order now at: – in the following limited-edition formats:

Glow-in-the-Dark(ness) Blue Vinyl(limited to 100 copies – SOLD OUT)

Lollipop Pink Vinyl(limited to 200 copies)

Hazy Weed Vinyl(limited to 200 copies) 

Lollipop Pink Cassette Shell Tape(limited to 100 copies)

The Good Ship Lollipop track-listing
1. The Good Ship Lollipop
2. Timeline
3. Slack Jaw
4. Pig
5. Clinical
6. Fractured
7. Voices
8. So Sick
9. Flowers Bloom
10. The Humble Crow
11. Can’t Lose
12. Everything is Endlessness
13. Life’s Winter

By Metal Lair

Propter Music Connoisseur, music for refined taste.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *