Music News

Vic Rattlehead is Coming For You. The Sick, the Dying… and the Dead!

The Sick, the Dying… and the Dead! is the sixteenth studio album by American thrash metal legends Megadeth, It was released today, September 2, 2022, on frontman Dave Mustaine’s Tradecraft label via Universal. Its the successor to 2016’s Dystopia, which earned the group their first-ever Grammy for the title track.

Dave Mustaine has defied all odds and is once again at the top of his game. He beat cancer, survived the pandemic and managed to avoid the whole banishment of two-time long-term bassist Dave Ellefson scandal but we are here to discuss the music so lets jump right in.

Ice-T makes an appearance on the song Night Stalkers. Rust in Peace gets referenced on the track “Mission to Mars” 3:25 — “Why don’t we just return to Earth and let it rust in peace out here?

“Celebutante” Is a cynical song about a girl Dave saw wearing his bands shirt. He approached her and told her thats his band but she brushed him off citing she didn’t listen to the band on her shirt and had no idea who Dave was. Poser alert?

The whole album is high octane thrash and displays the bands maturity. There are subtle similarities yet its different. Lyrically there are metaphors and double edged swords. Every song on this album is very good in my opinion. I suggest you put it on today and give it a listen.

Order Here

Track Listing:

  1. The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!
  2. Life In Hell
  3. Night Stalkers
  4. Dogs Of Chernobyl
  5. Sacrifice
  6. Junkie
  7. Psychopathy
  8. Killing Time
  9. Soldier On!
  10. Célebutante
  11. Mission To Mars
  12. We’ll Be Back

By Metal Lair

Propter Music Connoisseur, music for refined taste.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *